Conversations On Social Media: Why You Need To Talk Too

So I’ve had this blog for almost two months now. Before yesterday, I could count on one hand how many comments I had left on other people’s blog posts. Sure, I’d click the like button, but I wasn’t adding to the conversation.

I was throwing my words in (hopefully lots) of other people’s faces, but I wasn’t doing anything besides promoting my own words and promoting my own blog as a result.

Yesterday, that changed. I was looking deliberately at other people’s posts on tags that pertained to yesterday’s post, and in the process, discovered other helpful sites to use to help me with organizing my life, and at the same time, I was finding this urge to comment on those posts, telling them how awesome it was of them to write it and share those links with me.

Sure, it was what, like 4 comments on 4 different people’s blogs? But it felt good to do so.

It was becoming less like I was singing into the ether, my voice echoing back at me, but rather more like, oh yeah, I just read this post, I should probably remind myself that someone actually wrote this with their fingers on the keys, and used brainpower, and I should probably let them know of my existence so they don’t think that they are talking to no one.

For a more long-term example, I’ve been on Twitter for more than 2 years now (with a total of more than 22,000 tweets). Up until, say, last December, I didn’t really participate in hashtags in regards to conversations. And even then, I only used a specific hashtag to let specific other people know about a certain thing that I wrote. In the past few months, I’ve been participating in hashtags in regards to learning about other people and holding conversations. One that I’ve been using and has been very helpful for me is the writestuff hashtag.

This hashtag pertains to an hour-long conversation every Tuesday at 9 PM EST on some aspect of writing. 5 questions are asked by the main host of the conversation, and anyone can join in by specifying which question they’re answering and putting their answer. In turn, people look through the hashtag to find what other people are saying, and genuinely find good advice and find new people to follow and talk to. It’s an all-around good time, and after the hour is done with (most of the time it feels like it goes by too fast!) you have lots of links to read, and a newly re-found sense of inspiration.

These are just two examples. If I used Facebook (and I don’t) or some other social networks besides Twitter and WordPress (I mostly don’t), then I would’ve used those as examples.

It’s great that you have said words. And maybe other people have seen your words and liked them. But you have to do the same for them.

Mary Wright

Like my posts? Like my tweets? Like both? If you can support me….every cent counts. Click the flattr button below. Or donate via paypal: marywright@writeme.com.

9 thoughts on “Conversations On Social Media: Why You Need To Talk Too

  1. I can’t agree more.. One of the reason why I think no one has been giving any comment in my blog is because I haven’t put up comments to other blogs I follow or like. Sometimes I have this ‘fear’ of people might not appreciate what I have to say so I just keep myself quiet.
    But reading your post this time really encouraged me to overcome the fear.. So thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad I could help you! Sometimes it’s hard to think that things you have to say are worthwhile. But then you realize that some people do, and that helps a little. Thank you so much for commenting! 🙂

      -Mary

      Like

  2. I’m glad that you joined into the conversation Mary. There’s a lot of people who have to get warmed up to it all first just to feel comfortable. I agree, joining in the conversations makes the whole experience more rewarding, and a little less lonely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well said! I’ve found that going through specific wordpress tags and opening many tabs at once of the ones you think look interesting, and then going through them and liking and commenting through each tab and then closing it out when finished is very efficient, while also a really good way to consistently comment a lot on many different blogs on similar topics. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

Tell me what you think - your opinion is really important to me.

