The Liebster Blog Award – Wait, What?

Thank you Adrian for nominating me for a  Liebster Blog Award!

I was totally unaware that this was a thing, seeing as I’ve been blogging on this url for less than a week (when I was nominated) and 11 days now total, writing this post about it.

According to Adrian’s post:

This award is given to newer blogs to celebrate new faces in the WordPress community (or at least that’s how I understand it)

The rules are as follows:

liebster-award-rules

RANDOM FACTS ABOUT ME:

1) I live with a lot of anxiety. Have had 2 major panic attacks in the past 2 years, and have severe anxiety attacks at least once a week. (I will write a post on the difference between panic and anxiety attacks at some point, probably in the near future.) You can read about my anxiety here.

2) 99.2% of the people I talk to on a daily basis are online. 92.2% of that is with Overall-Awesome-Person on DM on twitter. If you want to talk to me, follow me on twitter.

3) I have 3 cats.

4) My favorite color is purple.

5) My favorite numbers are 12 and 28.

6) I can play the acoustic guitar, the uke, and the drums.

7) I listen to the podcasts Welcome to Night Vale, Citizen Radio, and Bibliovore.

8) I watch the TV show Supernatural.

9) I have been drawing and journaling daily since January 1st, 2014.

10) I have been vegetarian for 2 months and 6 days as of this post.

11) I wear gray converse sneakers.

NOW FOR ADRIAN’S QUESTIONS:

1) What are you reading right now? 

Right now I am reading:

(re-reading after like 4 years, just for myself) Brave New World by Aldous Huxley,

(for one of my college classes) City of Glass by Paul Aster.

2) How do you choose which books you want to read?

Well I’ve got a GoodReads to-read list to keep track, but more generally, I like mostly sci-fi and fantasy novels, which is the kind of novel I’d like to eventually publish.

3) What is your writing process?

Research paper, essay, anything that has to do with school: procrastinate until the last minute, and then write something. The professor/teacher usually gives a high grade on it despite me doing it at the last minute because I’m great at sentences with a lot of words in them and can make sense even when I don’t quite know what I’m writing about. See how long that last sentence was? Yeah. That wasn’t on purpose at all.

Blog posts: As of now, it has been the same as above, but I’m hoping I’ll able to prepare the posts for the week on Fridays and Saturdays as a normal thing. It’ll probably be easier to do when school isn’t happening.

Fiction writing: This depends on what and when I’m writing. If it’s a short story, I usually write it in one sitting in no more than an hour. I’m really good at writing a lot, but not so much getting to the end quickly. Which brings me to novels. Usually, when I write a novel, it’s during Camp NaNoWriMo, or more generally, NaNoWriMo. My writing process for this is usually to write around whatever classes I have, and then write a whole lot on the days I don’t have classes at all. Otherwise, it’s in 10-15 minutes sprints with music playing in my ears that gets me the most words. I’ve found it much more difficult not to write without a writing challenge, so I usually stick to writing down my ideas and waiting for April, or July, or November to roll around so that I get the first draft done in a month or less.

4) Which author do you admire and why?

The author I most admire is John Green. His books are great, or at least they were the sort of books were I was reading them at the right time in my life, you know? I’m sure they’re still amazing. I haven’t gotten back to reading them. (See: to-read list on Goodreads / question #2)

5) What is your favorite place to write and why?

My favorite place to write is in my room, on my laptop, on my desk. Mostly because it’s the most private and quiet place I have to write right now.

6) What books are you looking forward to this year?

There are two books I am most looking forward to this year, and unfortunately they aren’t coming out very soon. The first one comes out mid-June, which is No Country by Kalyan Ray. It’s a book my professor wrote, and he’s going to be all famous and things after it’s released. The second one comes out September or October, and is “the Citizen Radio book” by Jamie Kilstein and Allison Kilkenny. If you’re familiar with their podcast, then you will enjoy it. If you are not familiar with it, and happen to pick up this book, you will ask, what the hell is this? It’s going to be awesome. I’m very excited.

7) When did you first start writing?

That’s like asking when I first started breathing, almost. It depends on what you mean by writing. At six, I was writing “books” with 10 sentences total, and 10 drawings. At thirteen, I was writing fan fiction, mostly, but got into the state of mind that I wanted to write – publish something – that I wrote that wasn’t fan fiction. At sixteen, I was made the “mascot” of this writing group full of people who were at least 30 years old, and I was the “token young poet” there. So that was fun. At seventeen, I had my first actual creative writing class that told me I could actually Do The Thing That Everyone Told Me Was Ridiculous As A Career. At eighteen, I met what would be become my favorite English professor I’ve had so far via English Composition II – who taught me many things about writing and life in general, and seemed to have infinite knowledge on books and movies I had never heard of. At nineteen (now), I have my second actual creative writing class with Favorite English Professor Thus Far, and also take two other classes that open my mind further to how the world is more complex than I think. So, technically, you could say any of those times were valid markers in the answer to this question, but really, I couldn’t tell you when.

8) What is the first book you can remember reading?

See, now, this question, this question is going to tough to answer, because I choose – or maybe I blocked it out – to forget middle school and most of high school, seeing as I had run ins with fake friends and bullies and not fitting in (and at that time, in middle school, I felt like that was an important thing). So, mostly, I forget. But I vaguely remember a few – The Great Gatsby, Catcher In The Rye, Brave New World…..not much else. Couldn’t tell you which one is the first one I remember even if I really tried.

9) Have you ever taken any writing classes?

I have “taken” three creative writing classes, one in high school, one unofficially, and one officially in college. The one in high school taught me that writing actually Could Be A Thing I Do With My Life, and the ones in college taught me that no matter what age you are, you can always be a writer.  I also earned this teen award thing for one of my poems that I wrote. Yeah.

10) Who is your favorite literary character?

I guess I’d have to say Arthur Dent or Richard Mayhew or Reese Holloway. Those are literary, right?

11) What is your favorite classic book?

Does the Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy count as classic? If so, that one.

My nominations for a Liebster Award:

NOTE: This was actually much more difficult than I expected it to be. I had to narrow it down a lot. Apparently I like a lot of blogs! 😀

1) Aaralyn’s Inkworld

2) Call Me Em

3) Confessions of a real life pessimist

4) Cup of Thoughts

5) My Life as a Friend Matchmaker

6) My Real World Reviews

7) PerfectionisOdd

8) Tastes Like Sunshine

9) Tea and Ponders

10) That Young Feminist

11) Wolfgirl1986

liebsteraward

Until tomorrow, (Tomorrow is Friday’s Weekly Blog Round-Up)

Mary Wright

Like my posts? Like my tweets? Like both? If you can support me….every cent counts. Click the flattr button below. Or donate via paypal: marywright@writeme.com. 

3 thoughts on “The Liebster Blog Award – Wait, What?

Tell me what you think - your opinion is really important to me.

